News:

OK A-holes.  It's fixed.  Enjoy the orange links, because I have no fucking idea how to change them.  I basically learned scripting in four days to fix this damned thing. - Andy

Main Menu

Author Topic: Monsters: How Factual Errors and Self-Indulgent Writing Ruined the 85 Bears  ( 10,378 )

Brownie

• Johnny Evers Fan Club
I am reading Rich Cohen's tome on the 1985 Bears, hoping it would be something different, maybe explaining why the 1985 Bears generate  feelings we cannot explain.  Cohen sets out to do that, attempting to nail down why this one team is a social phenomenon while Fork's 1986 and 1990 Giants barely register a shrug.

Cohen so far has failed, instead describing his teenage years, which I would imagine to be only marginally more exciting than my teenage years, and that's because Cohen went to Super Bowl XX.

But what gets me are the major factual errors I am beginning to tally. To wit:

1) Hampton played a lot of tackle, but was an end by trade. Steve McMichael was strictly a tackle.
2) Ditka came to the Bears as coach in Jan. 1982, not 1981.
3) The 1963 NFL Championship Game was played at Wrigley Field, not the Polo Grounds. The Polo Grounds has not been home to the football Giants for years at that point.
4) Steve Goodman did not record "Go Cubs Go" in 1972. Was there really a collapse in 1972, anyway?
5) Members of the 1969 Cubs recorded "Hey Hey, Holy Mackeral"

I will add more as I find them, but holy crap, it makes it hard to believe anything new in this book.

Quality Start Machine

• Johnny Evers Fan Club

The main difference between the Bears and Giants is that the Giants were sharing the stage with the Mets, who also won that year. Plus, it had been less than a decade since the Yankees won, and there were still enough ghosts left from when the Jets and Knicks won.

The Bears were the only championship Chicago had seen in over two decades.